Tuesday, 19 July 2011

Temple - Saintfield League Race #8 (19th July 2011)

Business as usual for the 8th out of 12 league races. Leaving from Temple the riders enjoyed a tailwind but faced a tough 3 mile uphill finish, bearing out the Second Law of Thermodynamics. [Who said this report was not highbrow enough]

Miss Lowry set the proverbial cat amongst the pigeons on her new TT bike (and borrowed wheels) taking minutes off her PB and chic-ing nearly all the guys. This result has prompted calls to create a separate league race for those who insist on turning up each week with new gear. Effectively the league is in the middle of a benign arms-race.

It is interesting to observe the multitude ways of shouting out one's race number at the finish line. On one end of the scale we have Enda shouting at 20 decibels, then we have the shy ones who whisper out their number to the wind and finally the breathless ones. Which are you?


1 Judith Lowry 28.51
2 Ali McConnell 32.44
3 Maeve Savage 33.06
4 Sara Hanning 34.00
5 Caroline Cullen 34.11
6 Emma Bamford 34.44
7 Heather Bamford 35.13
8 Angela Burns 35.50
9 Barbara Brown 37.20
10 Claire Burns 38.38

1 Stephen McWilliams 26.3
2 Paul Carroll 26.32
3 Vaughan Purnell 27.06
4 Eamon Hill 27.20
5 Enda Marron 27.22
6 Matt Allum 28.13
7 Hooperman 28.44
8 Dave Lonnen 29.03
9 Colm Hanratty 29.28
10 John McManus 29.37
11 Conor Reilly 30.13
12 Marty Lennon 30.33
13 Neville O'Neill 30.43
14 Nial Magee 31.14
15 Johnny Boylan 31.23
16 Wes Kettyle 31.55
17 Ed Smith 32.02
18 Kieran Hanratty 32.32
19 Willie Noteman 33.26
20 Bill Rafferty dnf

Thanks to timekeepers: Paddy and Peter McGuicken

Monday, 11 July 2011

Holiday arrangement

Reminder: There is no offical or timed TT scheduled for Tuesday 12th July.

Instead Enda will be in charge of a group ride from the House of Sport at the usual time of 6:45PM.

Distance: 63K (with opportunities for people to drop off home earlier)
Time: 2 hours
Terrain: 1 hill otherwise flat/ rolling
General route: HOS, Drumbo, Tullyard hill, Hillsborough, Ballynahinch, Saintfield, Ballygowan, Moneyreagh, Carryduff (tt course), Forestside
Nothing radical and over familiar roads

Tuesday, 5 July 2011

Carryduff - Ballygowan League Race #7 (5th July 2011)

A surprisingly good evening with a bit of headwind on the way out to Saintfield marked the return of the League Races.

For those who drive up to the TTs there is always the question of what you do with your car keys. Heaven forbid having to carry the weight of a car key in your jersey pocket! Ed Smith now has an innovative solution to this problem which without any sugar coating simply involves slinging your keys in the bushes. This technique was so effective and secure that 4 people had to hunt in the bushes for 10 mins to find the keys after the TT.

Hooperman showed a distinct lack of business acumen when he shamefully admitted buying tubes from a shop during the week. How did the Hooperman not know that he could have gotten a better deal from the TT tube stockpile (that's the big plastic jar full of tubes you see each week). Martin Lewis must be turning in his grave.

On a serious note we hope that Mike Millar is okay after colliding with a car at the Saintfield-Ballygowan turn. This is an example of why the organisers insist on the disclaimer being signed each week and ask for TI membership. It is each persons responsibility to cycle safely on the roads.

Next week (12th July holiday) Enda is being put in charge. The proposal is to meet at the House of Sport at 6:45pm. The format will be to go for a 60K spin which will take in sections of the normal TT courses and give a chance for some chaingang work.


1 Judith Lowry 32.35
2 Emma Bamford 33.48
3 Ali McConnell 34.53
4 Aisling Trainor 35.25
5 Caroline Cullan 36.42
6 Heather Bamford 37.05
7 Anne Duffy 38.06
8 Angela Burns 39.12

1 Stephen McWilliams 27.23
2 Enda Marron 27.55
3 Eamon Hill 28.32
4 Hooperman 29.24
5 Vaughan Purnell 29.31
6 Matt Allum 29.45
7 Mike Lyons 30.14
8 Dave Lonnen 30.16
9 Desi McHenry 30.43
10 Peter Morrison 30.52
11 Glen Pollock 30.52
12 Niall Magee 31.32
13 Marty Lennon 31.33
14 Davy Calvert 31.34
15 Bill Rafferty 31.39
16 Connor Reilly 32.12
17 Kevin Egan 33.16
18 Karl King 33.49
19 Peter McGuicken 33.53
20 Shane Quinn 34.15
21 Paul Trainor 34.17
22 Ed Smith 34.22
23 Garrett Green 34.27
24 Andrew McMurray 35.05
25 Gerard Keogh 36.07
26 Patrick Dewar 41.25
27 Mike Millar dnf

Thanks to time keepers: John McManus and Neville.

TT Training 2019

2019 Rules

You must have a TI licence (a training licence is sufficient), be a member of a triathlon club and have working front AND rear lights on your bike. Cycling helmets are also mandatory. For events marked (ATH) - this means it is an athletes TT, meaning that no TT equipment should be used, such as TT bikes, TT bars, aero helmets etc. You can of course turn up with TT equipment, however, you should be prepared for general teasing and mickey taking as the penalty for doing so!

As we are riding on public roads, the rules of the roads apply. The committee have notified the PSNI of our plans for the season; being seen and riding safely are of paramount importance - these events are very enjoyable and will improve your time trialling, but we should all stay safe when participating in them and we all have a responsibility to ensure that this happens.



27 - Titanic (Head to head final)

3 - Drumbo Hill Climb